It’s a Lakefront Property

“Water, water everywhere

Nor any a drop to drink.”

It’s melting like crazy here and there’s a small lake in front of the Beijing Hotel (the name posted on the front of the shed. Apparently, a Chinese research biologist named Dr. Wei lived here for A YEAR. I hope I’m not there that long!).

My food box from Full Circle came tonight, so I processed my food (froze all the smoothie berries, cleaned the chard/kale/spinach, de-slimed the cilantro, whipped up some pesto with the basil that came, made some mango salsa, boiled some eggs, etc), and then came back to the hut to work on the recipe section of the summer edition of my Warrior Cleanse. I’m having a hard time nailing it down, and maybe the reason for that is subconscious… After all, I don’t know how to get an ebook on Kindle, so until I get that figured out, there’s not much of a rush. Except there is a rush bc a summer cleanse needs to be sold during the summer. 🙂 But I am hoping someone sends me a copy of Adobe InDesign CS6 bc that seems to be the most straightforward way to get it on Kindle, and sadly, I can’t afford InDesign right now.

Tomorrow a.m. I’m having a phone consult with the Institute of Integrative Nutrition, the place where I eventually want to go for my health coach certification. They are going to talk me through how this will work with me being hearing impaired and not having access to a relay system. The course requires teleconferences, but I can’t hear more than one voice at a time (and even one is hard – especially when it’s on the phone). Since they insist on phone conversations, I’m hoping they will consider letting me have one-on-one calls versus the teleconferencing, which is impossible for me. They do have closed captioning available for the video lectures, so that’s awesome.

So that’s me. R has been sick all week, and I hear a lot of the village is out whaling now, so if they catch one tonight or tomorrow night (it always seems to happen at night!), she probably will be up all night and get sick all over again. I just want her to get better. Last summer she got pneumonia, and it began just like this.

I posted something on FB today about OJ costing $12 for a 1/2 gallon here in town and people were shocked. I’ll have to post some pics of other crazy prices in the store. We never buy OJ but I splurged bc of R being sick. I also bought a $6 can of Campbell’s soup. I left the store with 2 plastic bags and $75 less. If the salaries were adjusted to the town’s cost of living, it wouldn’t be so bad, but they aren’t. It’s cheaper to get my farm box once a week from Seattle. Even with shipping, it’s cheaper than shopping here, and the quality is better.

It’s late. This 24 hr daylight is killing me. I was up til 3am last night. It’s 1:15 now, and I’m going to try and sleep a bit.  The sun stopped setting earlier this week and it won’t set again for a couple months.

Oh, Arctic.  You slay me.

(just woke up and realized this never posted)

1 thought on “It’s a Lakefront Property

  1. Good to see your postings again. Some of your food items are even more than ours. Milk here is about $20 BZ per gallon (that’s $10 US).. I’ve only had one cup of milk in 1 and 1/2 years. I bought a pint for about $5 for a treat with some homemade chocolate chip cookies; the chips were $10 a bag. O.J. here is fresh made each morning and is about $5 per 2 liter bottle. It lasts us several days because we add water to it because the oranges are ripe and so sweet. We have entered rainy (aka hurricane) season and you can almost watch the trees and plants grow before your eyes. Everything is lush. Mosquitoes are swarming. Even “paradise” has it’s drawbacks.

Leave a comment